Master of Music (MM)



Document Type



Concerto for Orchestra was written between Fall 2004 and Spring 2005. It is scored for regular orchestra, including piano, harp and celesta. The concerto is written in three separated movements, following the common pattern of the regular solo concerto: Fast-Slow Fast. The purpose of the piece is to create a virtuoso work in which all the instrumental sections have an important and relevant role as if they were soloists. There are three different forms for the movements of the piece. The first movement, Allegro molto, is a modified sonata form. The form of this part is Exposition (A- transition- B- Closing themes), Development, and Recapitulation (B-closings themes-A-Coda). The opening theme of the movement has a rhythmic resemblance with the one from Bartok’s Concerto for Orchestra, which I admired very much. The second movement, andante, is in arch form. The scheme of the movement is as follows: A (andante)-B (Piu mosso)-C (Moderato)-B-A (andante until the end). The last movement is a theme and variations. The design of the theme is in fugato style, and the subsequent variations are joined without interruption. There is total of four variations: I and II are in Allegro, III is and Adagio, and IV is an Allegro molto going to the final coda of the piece.



Document Availability at the Time of Submission

Release the entire work immediately for access worldwide.

Committee Chair

Dinos Constantinides

Included in

Music Commons