Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)



Document Type



The purpose of this document is to provide information pertaining to the instrumental music of the living British composer Nicholas Maw and a detailed analysis of American Games, his only work for symphonic wind ensemble. The document is divided into four chapters, the first of which contains introductory, biographical, and repertoire information. Chapter Two explores Maw’s primary influences and provides a description of his late instrumental style, including references to three orchestral works completed in the last twenty years (Odyssey, Violin Concerto, and Dance Scenes). The third chapter includes pertinent historical information on American Games paired with a detailed theoretical analysis. The fourth chapter consists of a conductor’s rehearsal and performance analysis of the work. Information is based on my experience preparing and performing the work with the Louisiana State University Wind Ensemble and a review of other literature pertaining to the analysis and performance of the piece. My hope is that this document will aid conductors in future preparations of the piece, enhance their understanding of the elements of its construction, and improve their overall presentation to the ensemble, thus resulting in artistically gratifying performances of the work.



Document Availability at the Time of Submission

Release the entire work immediately for access worldwide.

Committee Chair

Frank B. Wickes

Included in

Music Commons