Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA)



Document Type



Sir Eugene Goossens (1893-1962) was a leading English composer and conductor of the early twentieth century. Though his music is relatively unknown today, at the height of his popularity as a composer in the 1920s and 30s, Goossens’ music was considered equal to that of British contemporaries Ralph Vaughan Williams, Benjamin Britten, Malcolm Arnold, Arnold Bax, and Gordon Jacob. A public scandal towards the end of his career resulted in his works falling into relative obscurity, with the exception of his oboe concerto. Despite the concerto’s popularity within the oboe community, few in-depth studies of the work exist. This monograph presents a formal examination of Eugene Goossens’s Oboe Concerto in One Movement (1929). Chapter One explores the life and musical journey of Eugene, as well as his brother Léon, a well-known oboist for whom the concerto was written. It also delves into the history of the concerto, including its premiere and significance of the piece within the oboe repertory. In Chapter Two, the concerto is examined through an analysis of the formal structure, unifying elements, and salient aspects of the piece. Chapter Three provides a guide for performing or teaching the piece, focusing on interpretation, technical challenges, and ensemble considerations.



Document Availability at the Time of Submission

Release the entire work immediately for access worldwide.

Committee Chair

Cox, Johanna

Included in

Music Commons